Freezer Meals & Snacks

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am doing a lot of cooking and baking and then freezing it so we have lots of home cooked options for when Callan comes around.

I have so many friends who are currently pregnant or have busy lives, and I thought they would be interested in the recipes I am using. A few of them I have posted here, and there are plenty that I’ve found online.

I’ll be breastfeeding, so I’m making some assumptions about when Callan gets here:

1. Spicy things won’t go over terribly well.

2. Dairy will most likely be an issue, as many babies don’t do well with cow milk. I really don’t do well with cow milk either, so I’m trying to make most recipes dairy free.

3. The baked goods will go quickly since they are so easy to grab and go. We’ll need lots.

So here’s what’s on the menu!

Dinner

2 pans – Chicken enchiladas – basic comfort food that freezes and reheats so well. I won’t bake the enchiladas before freezing, just cover. Pull out early the day you want to make them, and they should be thawed. Bake as normal, or maybe a smidge longer on lower heat so they heat through. I’ll be adding cheese to half of the pan, since Jer can still have dairy.

2 pans – Red sauce ground turkey lasagnas – this one isn’t dairy free. Pretty basic as well. Brown ground turkey, dice up zucchinis and add into marinara sauce. Thaw a box of frozen spinach and strain through cheese cloth to remove moisture. Cook the noodles and drain. Layer sauce, spinach, ricotta & noodles. Top with mozzarella cheese. Cover & freeze.

2 batches- Vegetable Tamale Pie – This recipe is awesome! I actually bulked up on some of the veggies. I made a double batch of the ‘filling’, then split it in half into gallon freezer bags. I then combined the dry ingredients for the corn bread into baggies and labeled them with what I need to add when I go to make them (the wet ingredients of egg, oil & milk). The plan is to bust out one of the filling baggies, thaw, put in a pan, make up the corn bread and bake like normal.

10 – Dairy free burritos – These are just filled with crock pot shredded chicken, pinto beans, spanish rice, and some grilled onions & peppers. If dairy doesn’t seem to bother Callan, I may have to have some of my homemade guac (diced avocado, pre-made salsa, lemon juice, salt & pepper), sour cream & salsa for dipping.

2 packages – Pulled pork marinade – I’m making this marinade in advance and freezing it. Thaw and pour over a pork butt, cook in a crock pot for 8 hours on low, shred and you have 6-ish meals made!

2 batches – Red Beans & Rice – I’m using the recipe from this forum. Just do a quick scroll and you will find it. I won’t be adding the beer. Let’s have a moment of silence for that.

4 batches – Homemade marinara. I quadrupled the recipe. Mmm… things that require marinara….

6 packs – Marinated chicken – There are tons of awesome marinades that you can toss together in just a few minutes. Seal up your chicken for a few hours and you have delicious, marinated chicken! I’m going to do this, but freeze after a few hours of marinading. This way, I can pull a packet out of the freezer to thaw and it’s less work that night!

16 servings – Dairy free mashed potatoes – I love the idea of having instant mashed potatoes ready to heat up. And yes, I know about the instant mashed potatoes you can buy in packets, add water and microwave. But have you looked at the ingredients? So gross. Plus, this recipe is gluten free and dairy free. Score!

1 batch (8-10) – Black bean quesadillas – Another recipe from Budget Bytes. The tamale pie is excellent, and this recipe is her 2nd favorite ever, so it’s bound to be good! Plus, she describes how to make them and freeze them. Score! These probably won’t be dairy free, but i’ll try to go light on the cheese. (Note.. I didn’t go light on the cheese. Heh)

3 batches – Pizza dough using this recipe found on Pinterest. I actually don’t have a Kitchen Aid and just knead the dough by hand. It turns out great! Freezes and thaws really well too. Pair with the homemade marinara – Yum!

Lunch

3 batches – Chicken Taco Soup – Also known as CTS in our household, this is a soup that is famous amongst my friends. Quite possibly the easiest recipe ever. Add sour cream and shredded cheese for a special treat known as ‘Baller Soup’. Not sure why that name stuck.

3 batches – White Bean and Sausage Stew – Possibly easier than CTS, which is saying a lot. This is one of Jer’s favorite soups. I add red pepper flake.

2 batches – Curried Lentil and Chickpea Stew – This one takes a bit of prep, but is so worth the effort. I’ve perfected this recipe with a few tweaks. First off, you need a whole 32oz box of vegetable broth. Second, it is in serious need of some spice, so I dump a ton of red pepper flake in. I also don’t find the need to add the chickpeas at the end – I put them in right away. Other than that, the recipe is as stated, and is *so* good. Especially with Fritos Scoops. If you have been afraid to try something different, try this recipe!

Breakfast

6-8 dozen – Banana Bread Muffins

3-4 dozen – Light Zucchini Bread Muffins

3 batches – Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

8 billion batches – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Baked Oatmeal – This is Jer’s favorite breakfast. I could make a batch each and every week and he would be a happy camper.

12 – Breakfast Burritos – You can really put anything in a breakfast burrito. I went with pan fried potatoes, eggs (egg beaters, actually), turkey breakfast sausage, grilled onions & grilled peppers. Roll it up in a burrito shell and you are good to go! I double wrapped them in plastic wrap and then foil so they would stay longer in the freezer. It was pure torture to make these one morning and *not* partake in one. They smelled awesome!

Leave a Reply

